2015-2016 Season

6 Oct 2015

Colorado Symphony

“Inside the Score: Brahms’s 4th Symphony”

Tuesday | Oct 6, 2015 | 7:30 p.m.


The evening begins with a performance of Mozart’s Horn Concerto No. 3, featuring Colorado Symphony principal horn player Michael Thornton as soloist. Then we will go “inside” Brahms’s 4th Symphony. This work astonished Brahms’s friends when they first heard it in a piano version. Some urged him not to release it to the public. But its premiere a few months later was positively received. It went on to become one of the pillars of the symphonic repertoire, even being seen as a summing up of western musical traditions to that point, and an introduction to the world of Ives, Stravinsky, and Schoenberg. Christopher Dragon, the Colorado Symphony’s new associate conductor will lead an in-depth exploration of this last symphonic work of Brahms’s career, including musical illustrations, followed by a full performance.